News and information from our partners

Primary election next Tuesday, May 20

Voters head to the polls to decide contested races, as well as school district levies, in the upcoming May 20 primary elections.


Locally, the Republican primary will determine the pick for Idaho County Treasurer between incumbent Deanna Hall and challenger Abbie Hudson, both of Grangeville. The victor here will face Democrat challenger Michelle Perdue of Grangeville in the Nov. 4 general election.

In the race for Legislative District 7, State Rep. Position A, incumbent Shannon McMillan of Silverton faces challenger Shauna Hillman of Wallace in the Republican primary. The victor will face Democrat Jessica Chilcott of Sandpoint in the Nov. 4 general election.

Second Judicial District Judge Jeff M. Brudie faces challenger John Bradbury.


Three county races and one District 2 judge position are currently uncontested:

County Clerk: Incumbent Republican Kathy Ackerman of Grangeville;

County Assessor: Incumbent Republican James Zehner of Grangeville;

County Coroner: newcomer Republican Cody Funke of Ferdinand;

District 2 Judge: Michael J. Griffin of Grangeville.


Local school districts will ask patrons to help keep schools running by voting yes on levies at the poll Tuesday, May 20.

•In Mountain View School District 244, the requested amount for the one-year supplemental levy is $2,663,246. This is the same as last year’s amount, which will leave homeowners paying the same in taxes for the 2014-15 school year.

In 2013, patron’s voted yes on MVSD 244’s levy with 996 yes and 817 no (55 percent in favor).

• Cottonwood Joint School District 242 will ask patrons to give the nod on a $350,000 levy, which is 9.6 percent less than last year’s amount.

Last year, the district’s $387,000 maintenance and operations levy passed with 241 yes and 108 no votes (69 percent favor).

• Salmon River Joint School District in Riggins will also ask for the same amount as last year: $545,000.

Last year patrons said yes to 243’s levy 222 yes votes to 82 no (73 percent in favor).

• Nezperce Joint School District 302 will ask voters to support a $445,000 levy.

Races set for November

Comm. Dist. 1 (four-year term): Incumbent Republican R. Skipper “Skip” Brandt and Independent George Perry, both from Kooskia;

Comm. Dist. 2 (two-year term): Republican Mark A. Frei, Democrat Jerry Zumalt and Independent Matthew Bybee, all from Grangeville.

District 7: State Rep. Position B: Incumbent Republican Paul E. Shepherd of Riggins and Democrat Kenneth Murray Meyers of Sagle; State Senator: Incumbent Republican Sheryl L. Nuxoll of Cottonwood and Democrat Casey Drews of Osburn.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)