News and information from our partners

Election: Hudson gets GOP nod; levies, revenue bonds pass with voters

Unofficial Tuesday night election results have Abbie Hudson as the Republican pick for Idaho County Treasurer over incumbent Deanna Hall.

In regional school levy votes, patrons in districts 242, 243 and 244 were across the board in approving these requests.

Bond measures in both Stites and White Bird passed voter approval.

Results are unofficial until canvassed by the Idaho County Commission.

Treasurer’s Race

May 20 results show Hudson receiving 1,604 votes over Hall’s total 1,461. Hudson will face fellow Grangeville resident, Democrat Michelle Perdue, in the Nov. 4 general election.

Also this fall will be decided two seats on the Idaho County Commission. Dist. 1 (four-year term): Incumbent Republican R. Skipper “Skip” Brandt and Independent George Perry, both from Kooskia; and Dist. 2 (two-year term): Republican Mark A. Frei, Democrat Jerry Zumalt and Independent Matthew Bybee, all from Grangeville.

Levies (simple majority for passage)

•In Mountain View School District 244, voters approved the one-year supplemental $2,663,246 levy. Votes were 1,335 yes and 1,242 no (51.8 percent in favor).

• Cottonwood Joint School District 242, patrons gave the nod on a $350,000 levy. Votes were 390 yes and 276 no (58.55 percent in favor).

• Salmon River Joint School District 243 in Riggins received approval for a $545,000 levy. Votes were 205 yes and 123 no (62.5 percent in favor).

While all 28 precincts were reporting, a counting error in the Harpster precinct has delayed final unofficial voter turnout numbers. At this time, county voter turnout is around 36 percent.

Revenue Bonds (simple majority for passage)

•In Stites, voters approved a $750,000 sewer revenue bond proposal, 39 to 10, to fund wastewater system improvements.

•In White Bird voters favored a $2.5 million sewer revenue bond proposal, 25 to 3, to fund wastewater system improvements.


Three county races and one District 2 judge position were uncontested: County Clerk: Incumbent Republican Kathy Ackerman of Grangeville; County Assessor: Incumbent Republican James Zehner of Grangeville; County Coroner: newcomer Republican Cody Funke of Ferdinand; and District 2 Judge: Michael J. Griffin of Grangeville.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)