News and information from our partners

Election 2014: official results: County shows 60.55 percent turnout

Idaho County voters made a good showing at the midterm elections: 60.55 percent (5,773) of total registered voters participated in the Nov. 4 general election, according to official results.

However, for comparison, this is down more than 16 percent from the last midterm election in 2012 that saw an additional 2,345 ballots cast in comparison to this year.

The 2014 election results remain unchanged following Nov. 12 ballot canvassing by the Idaho County Commission.

Official totals show incumbent Republican Skip Brandt the victor in the Commission District 1 race with 3,263 votes versus Independent George Lee Perry with 2,282.

In the Commission District 2 race, Republican Mark A. Frei was elected with 3,323 votes, followed by Democrat Jerry Zumalt with 2,018 and Independent Matthew Bybee with 337.

In the decision for formation of the White Bird Recreation District, voters approved the measure with 214 in favor and 118 opposed.

Uncontested races: Re-elected were incumbents County Clerk Kathy Ackerman (R), 5,049; and County Assessor James Zehner (R), 5,078. Newcomers elected were Abbie Hudson (R), county treasurer, 4,974; and Cody Funke (R), county coroner, 5,022.

In the Nov. 4 election were 9,534 registered voters, of which 1,189 were absentee. Highest voter turnout by precinct were as follows:

Big Butte (81 percent), Joseph (80 percent), Slate Creek 1 (79.3 percent), Lowell (71.4 percent) and Greencreek (70.4 percent). Lowest voter turnout was in Elk City (34.5 percent), Grangeville 2 (39.6 percent), Grangeville 4 (40.3 percent), Grangeville 1 (40.4 percent) and Grangeville 3 (41.2 percent).

Legislative District 7

Unofficial state results show Republican incumbents were re-elected to positions in Legislative District 7 (includes Idaho Clearwater, Shoshone and a portion of Bonner counties): Senator Sheryl Nuxoll, 7A House Shannon McMillan and 7B House Paul Shepherd. Idaho County votes in these races are as follows:

Dist. 7 Senate: Casey Drews (D), 1,412; Sheryl Nuxoll (R), 4,178.

Dist. 7A House: Jessica Chilcott (D), 1,283; Shannon McMillan (R), 4,202.

Dist. 7B House: Kenneth M. Meyers (D), 1,233; Paul Shepherd (R), 4,322.

Of these races, this is the second go-around for Drews and Nuxoll. The pair first faced off in 2012 with Nuxoll receiving 76.3 percent and Drews 23.7 percent. Two years later that support shifted with Nuxoll receiving 74.7 percent and Drews 25.3 percent.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)