News and information from our partners

Idaho County ag producers qualify for disaster assistance

Due to designation in a neighboring jurisdiction, Idaho County farmers and ranchers qualify for USDA natural disaster assistance.

On Sept. 3, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) designated Clearwater County as a primary natural disaster area due to high winds and hail that occurred Aug. 14. Also qualifying for assistance are contiguous counties that include Idaho, Latah, Lewis, Nez Perce and Shoshone.

All qualified farm operators in the designated areas are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

For information, contact the FSA office in Grangeville, 983-1050.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)