News and information from our partners

General election: Nov. 4 -Absentee voting under way; commission seats contested


Oct. 10: for voters to preregister.

Oct. 29: for voters to request absentee ballots be mailed to them.

Oct. 31: vote in-person absentee at the Idaho County Courthouse.

Sample ballots are now available at the county election office at the courthouse.

Information online at .

Elections? Already?

In-person absentee voting started Monday, Sept. 22, at the Idaho County Courthouse for races to be decided in the Nov. 4 general election.

For Idaho County, six positions are currently open, of which only two – commission districts 1 and 2 – are currently contested.

For commission district 1 (four-year term), incumbent R. Skipper “Skip” Brandt (R) faces fellow Kooskia resident George Lee Perry (I). For commission district 2 (two-year term), it’s a three-way race between Independent Matthew D. Bybee, Republican Mark A. Frei and Democrat Jerry Zumalt. All are from Grangeville.

Uncontested positions and candidates are as follows: county clerk, Kathy Ackerman (R), incumbent; county treasurer, Abbie Hudson, who defeated Deanna Hall in the May Republican primary; county assessor, James Zehner (R), incumbent; and county coroner, Cody Funke (R).

Voters will also decide on retention of Magistrate Judge Jeff Payne.

Deadline is Oct. 7 for those seeking to run as a write-in candidate to file a petition of candidacy to be considered on the Nov. 4 ballot.

Also on the local ballot, voters will decide on formation of the White Bird Area Recreation District. A simple majority is required for passage.

Races are contested for all three Legislative District 7 seats. The district includes Idaho, Clearwater, Shoshone and a portion of Bonner counties.

District 7 Senate: Casey Drews (D) of Osburn is challenging incumbent Sheryl L. Nuxoll (R) of Cottonwood.

District 7A Representative: Jessica Chilcott (D) of Sandpoint is running against incumbent Shannon McMillan (R) of Silverton.

District 7B Representative: Kenneth Murray Meyers (D) of Sagle will face incumbent Paul E. Shepherd (R) of Riggins.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)