News and information from our partners

School levies pass in districts 242, 243

Free Press Graphic

Free Press Graphic

Although voter turnout was the lowest in recent memory, voters made their choices known at the polls yesterday, May 19, on school district levies as well as open school and hospital board positions.

Levies in Cottonwood and Riggins passed by 71.3 percent and 75.3 percent, respectively.

Idaho County’s total voter turnout was 18.1 percent, with the lowest voter turnout in the Grangeville precincts (1 through 5) for 4.3 percent.

All results are unofficial until canvassed by the Idaho County Commissioners.

School Levies

Cottonwood Joint School District 242 got the “yes” nod from its patrons for a $350,000 supplemental levy for the 2015-16 school year, 238 yes to 96 no.

Salmon River Joint School District 243 patrons also voted in the affirmative on a $545,000 supplemental levy for 2015-16. The vote was 201 yes and 66 no.

MVSD 244 Board

Of the three people who sought a four-year-term for zone 2 on the Mountain View School District 244 board, Casey Smith of Clearwater came out on top.

Smith got 130 votes while Julia York of Elk City received 91 and Paul Baldwin of Harpster was on the board with 75.

Only patrons in zone 2 voted on this race.

Syringa Hospital Board

For a two-year-term seat on the Syringa Hospital board of trustees, Judy Scribner, was the winner over Barbara Essen. Scribner had 392 votes while Essen had 306. Both are of Grangeville.

For the one four-year term, Steven Didier of Kooskia came in ahead with 367 votes while Morris Bentley of Grangeville had 212 votes and Paula Calcaterra of Harpster garnered 161.

In unopposed races for six-year terms were Craig Spencer with 592 votes and David Green with 502; both are of Grangeville.

Highway Districts

Kidder Harris Highway District, in sub-district 3, will see Douglas Boller as its new commissioner with 127 votes over Gary Renshaw’s 77.

White Bird Highway District’s new commissioner for sub-district 3 was a tight race with John Bailey earning 39 votes and Dean Klement obtaining 37.

Unopposed for White Bird’s Highway District sub-district 2 was Joaquin Lowe with 59 votes.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)