News and information from our partners

County election largely a no-show

It was low voter turnout for elections in Idaho County last Tuesday, May 19.

Overall county voter turnout at 18.1 percent

In Idaho County, total average voter turnout for all elections was 18.1 percent with 1,620 votes cast of 8,950 registered voters. There were 49 people who registered to vote on election day.

By comparison, Idaho County saw 60.55 percent of total registered voters participated in the Nov. 4, 2014, general election.

Precincts with the highest voter turnout were Big Butte with 61.8 percent, 42 of 68 registered voters voting; Joseph at 47.4 percent (9 of 19); Greencreek at 39.9 percent (77 of 193); and Woodland with 35.8 percent (62 of 173).a

Precincts with lowest voter turnout were Grangeville 1-5 with a 4.3 percent total or 122 of 2,815; Stites with 5.7 percent (16 of 281); Fenn at 7.7 percent (12 of 156); and White Bird at 17.2 percent (51 of 297).

Kamiah only local levy that doesn’t pass

•Voters in Kamiah Joint School District 304 rejected a $325,000 supplemental levy. There were 392 opposing votes, 61 percent, to 250 yes votes, or 39 percent. A breakout of precincts was not available as of press time.

•Cottonwood Joint School District 242 asked for a $350,000 supplemental levy, which passed by 71.3 percent in favor

Votes by Precinct — Cottonwood 1&2: 107 yes, 38 no; Fenn: 1 yes, 5 no; Ferdinand: 26 yes, 16 no; Greencreek: 61 yes; 16 no; Keuterville: 33 yes, 19 no; Absentee: 10 yes, 2 no. Total yes: 238; total no: 96. Total ballots cast: 334.

Voter turnout was highest in Greencreek at 39.9 percent, followed by Keuterville at 25.6 percent, Cottonwood 1&2 at 21.2 percent, Ferdinand with 18.9 percent, and Fenn at the bottom with 7.7 percent.

•Salmon River Joint School District 244 patrons asked voters for a $545,000 supplemental levy which passed by an overwhelming margin of 75 percent in favor.

Votes by Precinct – Pollock: 54 yes, 19 no; Riggins: 101 yes, 10 no; Slate Creek 2: 8 yes, 2 no; Adams County votes: 33 yes, 33 no; Absentee: 5 yes, 2, no. Total yes: 201; total no: 66. Total ballots cast: 267.

Pollock had a 23 percent voter turnout, Riggins a 24.5 percent turnout and Slate Creek 2 a 27.8 turnout.

Scribner elected to Syringa Hospital Board

For a two-year-term seat on the Syringa Hospital board of trustees, Judy Scribner, was the winner over Barbara Essen. Scribner had 392 votes while Essen had 306. Both are of Grangeville. The one four-year term was won by Steven Didier of Kooskia who had 367 votes, while Morris Bentley of Grangeville had 212 votes and Paula Calcaterra of Harpster garnered 161. In the unopposed races for two six-year terms, Grangeville candidates Craig Spencer had 592 votes and David Green had 502.

Boller, Bailey, Lowe elected to Highway Districts

Kidder Harris Highway District, in sub-district 3, will see Douglas Boller as its new commissioner with 127 votes over Gary Renshaw’s 77. White Bird Highway District’s new commissioner for sub-district 3 was a tight race with John Bailey earning 39 votes and Dean Klement obtaining 37. Unopposed for White Bird’s Highway District sub-district 2 was Joaquin Lowe with 59 votes.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)