News and information from our partners

Election 2015: new faces on councils, bond passes

A voter signs in the polling book at the Grangeville polling station Tuesday afternoon, Nov. 3.

Photo by David Rauzi
A voter signs in the polling book at the Grangeville polling station Tuesday afternoon, Nov. 3.

Some new faces in city government, and passage of a half-million-dollar bond were approved by voters in Tuesday’s elections.

Results from the Nov. 3 election are unofficial until canvassed by the Idaho County Commission at its Tuesday, Nov. 10, meeting.

In contested city races:

Grangeville: For three four-year-term positions, incumbents Peter Lane (289 votes) and Michael Peterson (261 votes) were elected, along with newcomer Amy Farris (185). Daniel Gautney received 160.

Voter turnout: 17.4 percent (289 voted of 1,661 total registered)

White Bird: Challenger Rod Pilant won over incumbent Rick Alley, 32 to 18, for the mayor position. For the two four-year-term council positions, incumbent Janis Ann Owen-Comrie (37) was elected and newcomer Homer Brown received 26. Incumbent Darlene Wadsworth received 24.

Voter turnout: 67.6 percent (46 voted of 68 total registered)

Grangeville Cemetery District: Incumbent John Lamb overcame challenger Bruce Battles, 276 to 195, for the four-year term position.

Voter turnout: 13.2 percent (402 voted of 3,039 total registered)

Rapid River Water Revenue Bond: Voters in the Rapid River Water and Sewer District approved by simple majority, 19 to 16, a $500,000 water revenue bond to fund system infrastructure improvements and additions.

Voter turnout: 72.9 percent (35 voted of 48 total registered)


Races are uncontested in the following towns:

Cottonwood: mayor, Denis Duman; two council positions, John Duman and Shelli Schumacher; Ferdinand: mayor, Gabriel Riener; two council positions (four-year term), Judy Forsman and Maria Imhoff; one council position (two-year), Scott Oliver; Kooskia: mayor, Charlotte Schilling; two council positions (four-year) Donald Coffman and Martin Stettler; one council position (two-year), no candidate; Riggins: two council positions, Carolyn Friend and Gary L. Miller (write-in); Stites: mayor (no candidate filed); two council positions, Josh Bradley and Gerald Cathey.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)