News and information from our partners

Council, board seats, water bond up in Tuesday election

Contested council and board races, and a water bond issue are up for decision in next Tuesday’s Nov. 3 elections.

Don't wait to turn in mail-out ballots

GRANGEVILLE – As of Monday, Oct. 26, the Idaho County Elections Office reports 65 request for absentee ballots; 49 have been received back, of which 18 were voted at the courthouse in Grangeville.

For the Rapid River Water and Sewer District bond election (mail-out ballots only): The district had 46 registered voters as of Oct. 9; 26 have been returned so far.

Regarding mail-out ballots: To be counted, these need to be at the elections office by close of polls, 8 p.m., on election day, Nov. 3. If you want until election day to turn in a mail-out ballot, you will have to hand-deliver it to the elections office.

Questions, call 983-2751.


Three four-year-term positions are open on the Grangeville City Council, sought by Amy Farris, Daniel Gautney, Peter Lane and Michael Peterson.

White Bird

The four-year-term mayor position is open, sought by incumbent Rick Alley and challenger Rod Pilant.

Two four-year-term council seats are open, sought by Homer Brown, Janis Ann Owen-Comrie and Darlene Wadsworth.

Grangeville Cemetery District

Incumbent John Lamb faces off against challenger Bruce Battles for a four-year term on the Grangeville Cemetery District board.

Rapid River Water Revenue Bond

Voters in the Rapid River Water and Sewer District will be deciding on a $500,000 water revenue bond to fund system infrastructure improvements and additions. A simple majority is required for passage.

Sample ballots in Free Press

To review races up for decision in the Tuesday, Nov. 3, elections, see sample ballots printed on pages 3-4B in this week's Idaho County Free Press.


Races are uncontested in the following towns:

  • Cottonwood: mayor, Denis Duman; two council positions, John Duman and Shelli Schumacher;
  • Ferdinand: mayor, Gabriel Riener; two council positions (four-year term), Judy Forsman and Maria Imhoff; one council position (two-year), Scott Oliver;
  • Kooskia: mayor, Charlotte Schilling; two council positions (four-year) Donald Coffman and Martin Stettler; one council position (two-year), no candidate.
  • Riggins: two council positions, Carolyn Friend and Gary L. Miller (write-in);
  • Stites: mayor (no candidate filed); two council positions, Josh Bradley and Gerald Cathey.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)