News and information from our partners

Voters choose new faces for city councils

Election 2017: Tuesday, Nov. 7 results

city election ballot

Photo by David Rauzi
city election ballot


Wes Lester


Rey Mireles

Voters chose a new look for city governments in Tuesday’s Nov. 7 elections.

Results are unofficial until canvassed by the Idaho County Commission at its Tuesday, Nov. 14, regular meeting.

Contested Races

Cottonwood: For the two-year-term position, Daniel Sigler overcame Linda Nida, 79 to 42. For two four-year-term positions, elected were Pat Holthaus and Lynn Guyer with 98 and 78 votes, respectively, followed by Ron Grant with 52.

Newcomer Seth (Pepper) Harman ran unopposed for mayor and received 91.

  • Voter turnout: 26 percent (121 of 472 total registered). In the last contested city race, 2009, voter turnout was 18 percent.

Grangeville: In the race for mayor, Wes Lester received the public nod with 354, followed by Lance McColloch (236), Danny Tackett (121) and John Viknius (1). Viknius announced his withdrawal from the mayor race last month.

For three four-year-term council positions, elected were incumbents Scott Winkler (477) and Beryl Grant (457) and newcomer Dylan Canaday (330). Also running were Earl Musick (314) Todd McGeorge (195), and Dan Gautney (173).

  • Voter turnout: 40 percent (685 of 1,700 total registered). In the last contested city race, 2015, voter turnout was 17.4 percent

Stites: Receiving the most votes for mayor was Rey Mireles with 39. Gerald J. Cathey received 23.

For two four-year-term council seats, elected were Bonnie Shannon (39) and Ralph Jackson (27). Also running were Neil Bronson (21) and write-in Joshua Bradley (22).

  • Voter turnout: 56 percent (62 of 110 total registered). In the last contested city race, 2007, voter turnout was 57 percent.

White Bird: For the open two-year-term council seat, Barbara A. Lowe and Paul Sand tied with 26 votes each.

How a tie is handled: Following vote canvassing, Idaho Code 50-413 states the city clerk shall give notice to the interested candidates to appear before the council at a meeting to be called within six days. At this time, the city clerk shall determine the tie by a toss of a coin.

For two four-year-term council seats, elected were Jeff Mager (30) and Rick L. Alley (27), followed by John Collins (24), Michelle McNamee (15) and Darlene Wadsworth (10).

Homer Joe Brown ran unopposed for the four-year-term mayor position and received 41.

  • Voter turnout: 72 percent (54 of 75 total registered). In the last contested city race, 2015, voter turnout was 67.6 percent.

Uncontested Races

Ferdinand: Scott Oliver for mayor (20 votes); Ronald W. Riener (19) and Michele Lindgren (13) for two council seats. All positions are four-year terms.

Kooskia: Danette Payton (17) and Doreen M. Ash (16) for two four-year-term council seats.

Riggins: Glenna McClure for mayor (40); Jonathan Wilson (37) and Roy Akins (39) have filed for two four-year-term council seats.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)