News and information from our partners

Coin flip decides White Bird seat for Lowe; overall city results

Election 2017

city election ballot

Photo by David Rauzi
city election ballot


Barbara Lowe holds her “I won” sign following last Thursday’s coin flip to break a 26-26 tie.

A coin flip last week settled a 26-26 tie between incumbents Paul Sand and Barbara Lowe in the race for a two-year-term council seat, with Lowe ending the victor.

The determination was made at a special city council meeting held at noon last Thursday, Nov. 16, at White Bird City Hall. City clerk Sandy Murphy flipped the coin and Councilman Sand called heads; the coin landed on tails.

Also in attendance were Councilor Janis Comrie and the following visitors: Rick Alley (councilor-elect), Rob Beeson and Annelle Urbahn (White Bird Volunteer Fire Department), Kathy Hedberg and Barry Kough (Lewiston Tribune).


Election results final for contested city positions

Nov. 7 election results are final, canvassed by the Idaho County Commission at its meeting last Tuesday, Nov. 14. Minor errors were corrected, but none affected race outcomes.

Cottonwood: Daniel Sigler overcame incumbent Linda Nida, 79-42 for council (two-year). Incumbent Pat Holthaus (98) and newcomer Lynn Guyer (78) were elected to council (four-year), and incumbent Ron Grant (52) was defeated. Seth (Pepper) Harman, running unopposed, received 91 votes for mayor, replacing outgoing Shelli Schumacher.

Turnout: 26 percent (121 of 472 ballots cast). Absentee votes (7) made up 5.8 percent of total.


Wes Lester

Grangeville: Moving from council to mayor is Wes Lester, who received 344 votes — replacing outgoing Bruce Walker — followed by Lance McColloch (236), Danny Tackett (121) and John Viknius (1). For three council seats (4-year), re-elected were Scott Winkler (477) and Beryl Grant (457), and newcomer Dylan Canaday (330), followed by opponents Earl Musick (314), Todd McGeorge (195) and Dan Gautney (173).

Turnout: 42 percent (706 of 1,700). Absentee votes (175) made up 24.8 percent of total.


Rey Mireles

Stites: Past mayor Rey Mireles returns to office, defeating current Mayor Gerald Cathey 39 to 23. Two council seats (four-year) were secured by incumbent Bonnie Shannon (49) and newcomer Ralph Jackson (27), followed by write-in Josh Bradley (22) and Neil Bronson (21).

Turnout: 56 percent (62 of 110). Zero absentee votes were cast.

White Bird: Two council seats (four-year) go to newcomer Jeff Mager (30) and past-mayor Rick Alley (27), followed by John Collins (24), Michelle McNamee (15) and Darlene Wadsworth (10). Running unopposed, Homer Joe Brown was elected mayor with 41.

In the 26-26 tie race for council (two-year) with incumbents Barbara Lowe and Paul Sand, the seat was decided in favor of Lowe in a coin-flip held at a special city council meeting last Thursday, Nov. 16.

Turnout: 72 percent (54 of 75). Absentee votes (3) made up 5.5 percent of total.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)