News and information from our partners

Races are on: City elections contested in Cottonwood, Grangeville, Stites and White Bird

Election set for Nov. 7

city election ballot

Photo by David Rauzi
city election ballot

Several city elections will be contested this November as residents vie for open council and mayor positions.

Races will be decided in the Nov. 7 election. The list of candidates could change as the deadline for write-in candidates, or for candidates to withdraw from the race, is next Friday, Sept. 22.

City Election Filings

Cottonwood: Three councilor positions are contested. For one two-year-term position, Linda Nida and Daniel Sigler have filed. For two four-year-term positions, Pat Holthaus, Lynn Guyer and Ron Grant have filed.

Newcomer Seth (Pepper) Harmon has filed unopposed for the four-year mayor position.

Ferdinand: Positions are uncontested. Scott Oliver has filed for mayor; Ronald W. Riener and Michele Lindgren have filed for two council seats. All positions are four-year terms.

Grangeville: Seats for mayor and city council are contested. Four people have filed for the four-year-term mayor position: Wes Lester, John M. Viknius, Lance McColloch and Danny Tackett.

Three four-year-term council positions are open, sought by Earl Musick, Beryl Grant, Scott Winkler, Todd McGeorge, Dan Gautney and Dylan Canaday.

Kooskia: Positions are uncontested. Danette Payton and Doreen M. Ash have filed for two four-year-term council seats.

Riggins: Positions are uncontested. Glenna McClure has filed for mayor; Jonathan Wilson and Roy Akins have filed for two four-year-term council seats.

Stites: Two have filed for mayor (four-year term); Rey Mireles and Gerald J. Cathey. Two four-year-term council seats are open, filed for by Bonnie Shannon, Ralph Jackson and Neil Bronson.

White Bird: One two-year-term council seat is open, sought by Barbara A. Lowe and Paul Sand. Two-four-year-term council seats are open, sought by Michelle McNamee, John Collins, Jeff Mager, Rick L. Alley and Darlene Wadsworth.

The four-year-term mayor position is uncontested, filed for by Homer Joe Brown.

Other Districts

Positions are either uncontested or have no filings in races for cemetery, fire and recreation districts.

Cemetery: Clearwater (two seats; James M. Hunter); Cottonwood (one seat; Joseph Schaeffer); Ferdinand (two seats; no filings); Grangeville (two seats; Rick L. Lance, Jerry Jessup); Kamiah (one seat; no filing); Keuterville (two seats; Bob Goeckner, Charlie Poxleitner); Pine Grove (one seat; no filing); Riggins (one seat; Patty M. Solberg); White Bird (one seat; Ralph D. Russell); Winona (one seat; no filing); Woodland (one seat; no filing).

Fire Protection: Cottonwood (one seat; Thomas R. Sonnen); Grangeville (two seats; Mike Mager and Bill Fowler); Harpster (one seat; Gary M. Lazenby); Kamiah (one seat; Richard Lockart, Lewis County).

White Bird Recreation District: Two seats open, sought by Dean Heckman and Steve Dalgliesh.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)