News and information from our partners

Long Pin basketball coaches name Shepherd MVP, recognize all-leaguers

One of the Salmon River girls -- Chevelle Shepherd -- was named Long Pin Conference MVP by the league's coaches in an announcement Thursday, March 1, and including three boys, seven Savages were recognized.

Salmon River's Lotus Harper was named a girls first-teamer; Emily Diaz and Payton Branstetter were named second-teamers, and Miranda Hofflander received honorable mention. Branstetter and Hofflander were also named "Senior All-Stars" by the Long Pin coaches.

The three boys recognized are Randy McClure (first-team), Devan Branstetter (second-team) and Canyon Harper (third-team). Branstetter was named to the "Senior All-Star" team.

Long Pin Conference All-League


Girls Basketball

MVP: Chevelle Shepherd (Salmon River).

Defensive Player of the Year: Mackenzie Waller (Tri-Valley).

Coach of the Year: Clay Hollon (Tri-Valley).

First Team: Lotus Harper (Salmon River); Grace Ertel (Tri-Valley); Khanyisa Morgan (Garden Valley); Ashlyn Gerlock (Tri-Valley); Brittany Schon (Council); Chelsy Testa (Council).

Second Team: Emma Hollon (Tri-Valley); Kynlee Chandler (Council); Emily Diaz (Salmon River); Larissa Hansen (Tri-Valley); Payton Branstetter (Salmon River).

Honorable Mention: Josey Jones (Tri-Valley); Courtney Stanford (Council); Sage Way (Cascade); Lydia Schulz (Garden Valley); Lonnacie Jeffs (Meadows Valley); Miranda Hofflander (Salmon River).

Senior All-Stars: Mackenzie Waller (Tri-Valley); Karli Hansen (Tri-Valley); Khanyisa Morgan (Garden Valley); Payton Branstetter (Salmon River); Miranda Hofflander (Salmon River); Kynlee Chandler (Council); Courtney Stanford (Council); Sydney Morris (Garden Valley); Lydia Schulz (Garden Valley); Lonnacie Jeffs (Meadows Valley). Alternate: Bradi Donica (Cascade).

Boys Basketball

MVP: Chip Mitchell (Tri-Valley).

Freshmen of the Year: Covy Kelly (Garden Valley).

Coach of the Year: JC Tucker (Council).

First Team: Lance Nichols (Council); Brett Rosengrant (Council); Randy McClure (Salmon River); Covy Kelly (Garden Valley); Gerritt Snider (Council); Orion Southwick (Tri-Valley).

Second Team: Trystan Knox (Garden Valley); Parker Cornwell (Tri-Valley); Devan Branstetter (Salmon River); Braden Nichols (Council); Wyatt Stocks (Cascade).

Honorable Mention: Michael Onaindia (Cascade); Kaiden Hoffman (Council); Sebastian Mendoza-Martinez (Meadows Valley); Javier Fuhriman (Garden Valley); Michael Barnett (Tri-Valley); Canyon Harper (Salmon River).

Senior All-Star: Chip Mitchell (Tri-Valley); Lance Nichols (Council); Brett Rosengrant (Council); Gerritt Snider (Council); Trystan Knox (Garden Valley); Parker Cornwall (Tri-Valley); Devan Branstetter (Salmon River); Darell Lindstrom (Garden Valley); Collin Kindall (Tri-Valley); Javier Fuhriman (Garden Valley). Alternates: Hunter Moosman (Cascade); Sebastian Mendoza-Martinez (Meadows Valley).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment


Information from the Free-Press and our advertisers (Want to add your business to this to this feed?)