SPTS - Jordyn Higgins.jpg

Prairie High School's Jordyn Higgins was named "player of the year" for Whitepine League Class 1A Division 1.

Prairie’s Jordyn Higgins was named the Whitepine League upper division’s "player of the year" in an announcement on Tuesday afternoon, Feb. 12. Troy coach Aaron Dail was named "coach of the year".

Lapwai and Prairie are both heavily-represented, with Higgins and India Peery both named first-teamers for Prairie. Madison Shears and Theresa Wemhoff were named to the second team.

Lapwai received three first-team nods, with Glory Sobotta, Raequel Domebo and Aurelia Ellenwood feted along with Genesee’s Bailey Leseman. The second team featured Emerson Parkins of Genesee, Jordyn Fredrickson and Kiana Hoskins of Troy and Shy Lynas of Potlatch.

The lower division saw three Nezperce players recognized as first-teamers: "player of the year" Hannah Stapleton, Sydney Boyer and Caitlyn Cronce. Summit’s Taylor Lustig and two Kendrick players – Lauren Morgan and Mya Brown – were also named first-team. The lower division’s second team recognized Erin Morgan of Kendrick, Kirstin Wambeke and Bea Whitling of Logos, Matteya Proctor and Emily Proctor of Deary and Chasta Jared of Timberline.

These honors are given by vote of the Whitepine League head coaches.

Sports Editor

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.