Kamiah's Whipple wins 2A 182-pound wrestling title

Kamiah's Peyton Whipple won the 2A 182-pound wrestling title at the state wrestling tournament held last weekend in Pocatello.

Peyton Whipple took a quick lead during the last 182-pound match of the 2019 state wrestling tournament. A takedown late in the first period put him ahead, and after starting down in the second period, he escaped, then turned another takedown into a pin of Ririe’s Trey Yearsley to win the individual title. “Peyton was locked in,” coach Carlos Martinez told the Free Press Monday, Feb. 25. “His toughest match was probably the other Ririe kid he saw in the semifinal. That kid was just strong. He wrestled Peyton pretty tough, but going into that final match, I knew Peyton was going to pull it out. He just had a look of determination.”

At state, by rule, Whipple competed separately from the Clearwater Valley squad with which he had trained. But even without the champion’s points, the Rams took an award for the highest 1A team score. “I couldn’t tell you the last time a 1A team from up north has won it,” Martinez said. “It seems to be Challis’s trophy every year.”

But not this year. CV had three wrestlers medal, including one of Whipple’s main sparring partners throughout the season, Bubba Summers, who placed fifth at 182. Davis McElroy (160) also placed fifth, and Ty Dominguez (152) finished as the ranking Ram with a third-place finish.

Dominguez’s win was especially dramatic. There had been a frenzy on the mat, with officials first signaling what would have been a decisive takedown by Melba’s Jake Svedin at the end of overtime. Officials waved off the takedown, as Dominguez successfully defended, but the late controversy led to overtime, then double-overtime.

Dominguez proved unflappable.

“One of the other coaches came up to me after and said, ‘Does that kid ever get excited about anything?’” Martinez said. “Ty just stayed very even-keeled. He looked so calm and collected.”

Four other Rams also survived Friday’s elimination rounds to compete for medals during the tournament’s second day. Daring Cross (113), Christian Fabbi (126), Cedar Fisher (145) and Lane Schilling (170) all saw their runs end during the third consolation round, but the points they scored helped the team post the top 1A score.

Match-by-match results were as follows:

98: Dax Blackmon (Declo) def. Landon Olsen (Clearwater Valley) 7-5; Olsen pinned Colton Battley (Challis) 1:54; Solin Lafleur (Marsing) def. Olsen 5-2.

106: Ben Wray (Malad) pinned Fallon Wilkins (CV) 1:09; Wilkins bye; Sam Phillips (Declo) pinned Wilkins 1:42.

113: Daring Cross (CV) pinned Dan Kaelin (Melba) 3:08; Troy Bruce (Salmon) pinned Cross 0:36; Cross pinned Hunter Anderson (Raft River) 4:16; Grant Ethington (New Plymouth) pinned Cross 0:53.

120: Braden Chafin (Glenns Ferry) pinned Tristin Dominguez (CV) 4:39; Dominguez pinned Evan Miller (Marsing) 2:43; Dakota McIntosh (Salmon) def. Dominguez 11-2.

126: Christian Fabbi (CV) pinned Fernando Rosales (Aberdeen) 5:29; Cahl Williams (Salmon) def. Fabbi 4-2; Fabbi def. Austin Nalder (Malad) 11-2; Bray Skinner (Grace) 36-19 def. Fabbi 6-2.

126: Jacob Pilgrim (North Fremont) pinned Caleb Barger (Grangeville) 6:14; Austin Nalder (Malad) pinned Barger 3:53.

145: Cedar Fisher (CV) def. Levi Jackson (Oakley) 10-6 sudden victory; Hunter Beus (New Plymouth) def. Fisher 17-2; Fisher def. Uriel Perez (Grace) 5-1; Nicholas Perkins (Firth) def. Fisher 6-4.

152: Ty Dominguez (CV) pinned Layton Yearsley (Ririe) 2:41; Dominguez pinned Isaac Mitton (Oakley) 4:42; Riggen Cordingley (North Fremont) pinned Dominguez 5:34; Dominguez def. Josiah Campbell (New Plymouth) 7-0; Dominguez def. Jake Svedin (Melba) 9-7 in tiebreaker.

160: Davis McElroy (CV) pinned Jacob Seibert (Salmon) 3:02; McElroy pinned Tyrek Mago (North Fremont) 3:15; Enoch Ward (West Side) pinned McElroy 1:18; Beau Carr (McCall-Donnelly) def. McElroy 11-10 s.v.; McElroy def. Mago 14-8.

170: Danny Romander (Ririe) pinned Lane Schilling (CV) 5:55; Schilling pinned Dylan Driessen (Malad) 0:42; Schilling def. Dylan Hunt (Malad) 10-6; Isai Arriaga (Marsing) def. Schilling 8-6.

182: Peyton Whipple (Kamiah) pinned Jared Roundy (West Jefferson) 0:46; Whipple pinned Miguel Juarez (Declo) 2:22; Whipple def. Chris Gundersen (Ririe) 8-6 tiebreaker; Whipple pinned Trey Yearsley (Ririe) 2:52.

182: Bubba Summers (CV) pinned Will Cuttler (Grace) 1:05; Summers pinned Parker Pyle (McCall-Donnelly) 3:44; Trey Yearsley (Ririe) def. Summers 17-8; Kade Toribau (Oakley) def. Summers 6-4; Summers pinned Nolan Jensen (Bear Lake) 2:41.

220: Ben Orozco (Wendell) pinned Austin Corey (CV) 0:51; Corey def. Nick Gundersen (Ririe) 8-6; Kelton Saad (Potlatch) pinned Corey 3:33.

285: Spencer Watson (Aberdeen) pinned Tyler Hess (CV) 1:07; Peyton Thompson (Declo) pinned Tyler Hess 1:43.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.